KOHH goes… Metal in new track “Die Young”. And it doesn’t work.

When I first listened to KOHH, Japan’s most famous rapper, and generally one of the most acclaimed Japanese acts overseas, I didn’t like much of what he was doing. At the same time, though, what I couldn’t certainly ignore, was the brilliant production behind his 2015 record DIRT, and step by step it became one of my most listened albums of last year.  I’m still not a huge fan of Trap music, but with that record, I definitely recognized KOHH’s talent in what he was doing, and started to appreciate it.

But that’s what he was doing. Cause the Tokyo-based rapper just took an unexpected direction, something that had me suspicious since his contribute in TeddyLoid’s terrible album Silent Planet, and that with Die Young sadly becomes reality: I’m talking about Metal influences. Don’t get me wrong, I love when artists try to escape from their comfort zone and experiment something new, but this song right here barely makes any sense: It’s not enjoyable, it doesn’t have a logic, and it’s a huge mess. To be quite honest, it’s almost unlistenable.

Die Young kicks off like a Rap song with the usual thundering bass, but there’s a weird aura to it, there are bell tolls and a generally dark atmosphere, and KOHH is just basically screaming nonsense stuff with an annoyingly filtered voice. Then it suddenly turns into a Metal track played with real instruments, and he’s still screaming with that super annoying altered voice the same non-sense stuff he was rapping about in the beginning. Bam, track ends: Inconsistent, irritating, and hardly enjoyable. The only good thing about it is that it’s only three minutes long, so you can get out of it pretty soon.

I understand that KOHH likes Metal, and that’s cool, but with this track and video, it looks like he’s just throwing random sounds all together, while he’s high as fuck screaming and dancing in a tourbus.

As a Rap and Metal lover, but most of all, as someone who liked KOHH’s recent works a lot, this is honestly disheartening. I genuinely hope this dude will get back on track with something different, that I hope to find in his upcoming record DIRT II. But even the cover itself speaks volumes about his intentions and current influences, so I’m not keeping my hopes up. And I won’t listen to this track again, unless you’re gonna buy me a ticket to Japan to attend a Salu show.

– Alex

Leave a Reply

