Indie-pop band CRUNCH and producer Alex Ruby team up in “Murasaki”

 

I usually ignore emails and tweets from people that want me to publish news about their musical projects. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not being harsh or snobbish here. I do it because ninety percent of the groups contacting me are not japanese, which is kinda curious considering how my blog covers only music coming from the land of the rising sun. The rest is people who pretends I copy/paste their emails into my blog to promote their mainstream groups, something that a worrying amount of websites out there do.

When I received a promotional email yesterday, I was expecting another Swedish or Italian punk rock group promoting their new demo. I was instead contacted to take a listen to an interesting collaboration between Nagoya-based Indie-pop outfit CRUNCH and american trackmaker Alex Ruby.

I had already heard of CRUNCH before, but never really had the chance to analyze their music properly, so I was glad to finally get into the works of the all-female trio hailing from Nagoya. The melancholic Indie-pop sonorities proposed by the group, enriched by mellow and addictive melodies, create immersive soundscapes and make them stand out despite the adoption of a commonly used formula in the genre, an interesting approach particularly enjoyable in the recently released blue blue blue EP. The group also provided upbeat numbers in the past, like Simple Mind, a fresh Indie-pop rock tune that doesn’t sacrifice the reflective mood that identifies the project. Definitely a band I feel like suggesting to fans of thoughtful yet enjoyable Indie-pop/rock.

At this point, I was curious to see how american producer/rapper Alex Ruby merged his influences with the sound of CRUNCH, and I was pleasantly surprised by this collaborative track titled Murasaki: With deep beats and delicate melodies composing a soothing instrumental, this atmospheric piece follows a linear structure that nicely fit the voice of Noriyo Hotta, and the concept of the trio as well. It’s a short and refreshing listen that’s perfect if you’re in the right mood for soothing vibes, and also a valid introduction to the sounds offered by both artists.

I’m glad to see japanese acts collaborating with overseas producers, especially when there’s knowledge and care from both parts, and this collaboration is a good example of that. You can listen to Murasaki above, and start your week with a nice and relaxing tune.

CRUNCH Bandcamp
Alex Ruby Soundcloud

– Alex

Leave a Reply

